A friend is never wrong …

Dearest Sue,

You were right. I did fall in love with him. Not because anyone told me he was a great guy. Not because I too wanted to have crush like all my other friends. Not because our love story would beat all odds. For the first time in my list of love interests, I fell without the pressure of any force other than my own.

It wasn’t until a few weeks ago that I realized maybe you are right, maybe I do think of him as more than just a good friend. But I have to deny these feelings because if I don’t I could lose everything. I know that there is no way that the two of us could ever be together. I’d rather live knowing that he is a close and trusted friend than risk losing the deep friendship we have formed over the last few months.

I know he doesn’t feel for me the same way I feel for him. I’m not his type and his family would never approve. He himself would never look at me in any way other than a close friend – at the most.

It sucks that the one person I have come to completely trust is the one person I cannot have. But I am certain that I can find the love I found within him in someone else. I may have fallen for my best friend, but maybe it’s not always best to marry your best friend. Maybe sometimes it’s better for him to stay just that – my best friend. The one I can depend on. The one I can trust. The one I can rejoice for. And the one who one day will allow me the pleasure of attending a wondrous ceremony as his beautiful bride walks down the aisle.

For now I must move on. And hope to one day find the person that will inspire me and allow me to grow as much as my best friend has.

xoxo,

Dreaming Daisy

Leave a Reply

